List of recipients of Berry, Brubaker awards


(For current journalist or journalism educator)

2021: Clark Kauffman, Iowa Capital Dispatch

2020: No awards due to COVID-19 pandemic

2019: Carol Hunter, Des Moines Register

2018: Herb Strentz, Drake University

2017: Randy Evans, Iowa Freedom of information Council

2016: Clark Kauffman, Des Moines Register

2015: Mary Mason and Jim Compton, The Spotlight (Muscatine, IA)

2014: Brian Cooper, The Telegraph Herald (Dubuque, IA)

2013: Kathleen Richardson, Iowa Freedom of Information Council and Drake University


(For attention to free press principles outside of journalism)

2021: Polly Carver-Kimm, former spokesperson for Iowa Department of Public Health

2020: No awards due to COVID-19 pandemic

2019: Margaret Johnson, Iowa Public Information board executive director

2018: Bill Monroe, Iowa Newspaper Association

2017: Chris Mudge, Iowa Newspaper Association

2016: Harold Hammond (post-humously)

2015: Keith Luchtel, first Iowa Public Information Board executive director, governor’s open government liaison, long-time media lobbyist

2014: Michael Gartner, Iowa Cubs president

2013: State Sen. Pam Jochum, Dubuque

Link to the Iowa Attorney General website, where they have bulletins posted that explain the regulations and requirements of the Sunshine laws.

Reforms Could Clarify Iowa Open Records Law, Increase Transparency

IOWA CITY — A police officer fired a gun in the Old Capitol Mall, just a couple hundred feet from stores, a medical clinic and University of Iowa offices.
University officials call the 2009 incident an “accidental discharge” and say nobody was injured. But they refused to disclose who did it, how it happened, or how the officer — a state employee working for University of Iowa police — was disciplined. To withhold those details from the public, the university cites a section of Iowa’s open records law which protects personnel information.